top of page

My Thoughts Marc Prensky's Awesome Book

Hello! I hope everything is well with you all!

So, here's what's new in my world: I've been reading a book entilted Teaching Digital Natives, by Marc Prensky. He discusses the 21st century and the need to implement partnering and technology. Prensky is an advocate for the teacher leaving the center stage and partnering with his/her students as a facilitator/coach on the side-lines. He belives education should be reached beyond the four walls of a classroom.

Upon reading a book of this nature, it’s easy to think, “Well I turned out ok, and I didn’t have all of these fancy gadgets to learn.” Throughout my education, the norm has been for my teachers to be the center of attention, and the giver of all knowledge. My job was to sit there, listen, take notes, study, and be tested. But, Prensky is on to something!! This is a whole new era! Today’s culture of students are growing up in a completely different world. My two year old knows how to open and play learning game apps on my smart phone 6 plus! I remember getting my first cell phone, and I’m in my thirties. Even my own children realize that technology is a huge tool in propelling their education. My son is in pre-k and comes home telling me about things he learned when “Mrs. Jenny played it on the smart board.”

With the whole Partnering aspect of things, I feel that Prensky’s ideas and opinions are really inspiring. He is passionate about education, and the success of today’s students. It is true that students learn from each other. In my recent college classes, with the use of something as simple as a Discussion Board Thread, I have learned so much from my peers. When someone reflects on a topic, it can bring a whole new thought process to the table.

As a future educator, I want to implement these principles and techniques that I have learned to guide my teaching practices. I feel that this information that I have learned from Prensky’s book will definitely help prepare me for success.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page